Hush Little Baby by Jane Isaac – Blog Tour/Book Review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the book:

Someone stole a baby…

 

One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her.

They silenced her cry…

 

Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia?

But the truth will always out.

 

When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child’s disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected…

The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater.

My Review:

This book is the third in the DC Beth Chamberlain series and although you could read it as a standalone, I really think you benefit from reading the previous books in the series. This book continues time-wise from just after the end of the previous book, to find that the serial killer apprehended previously has escaped from police custody and is on the run. Although there are mentions of curious things happening, it’s not completely clear until the final quarter of the book exactly what is happening with relation to the escaped killer. The primary story focuses on a historical child abduction, and is very moving, given that all of the families have been affected over the previous fifteen years of not knowing what has happened to baby Alicia.

I love Jane Isaac’s writing style, and found myself immediately drawn into a story with such strong, believable characters. She is the queen of twists and turns, which meant there were a few times I found myself gasping out loud. She certainly kept me guessing on the main story as well as the side story. I adore this series so much, Beth Chamberlain is such a wonderful character, I find myself rooting for her constantly throughout this series, and look forward to seeing where Jane Isaac takes her next.

As a domestic crime thriller, I like the fact that Beth is a family liaison officer, which is a different role to those normally seen in this genre. I think the reason I enjoy it so much is that it leans towards the empathetic and emotional aspects of the case as well as the usual technical and physical moments seen in a crime thriller.

This was a great addition to the Beth Chamberlain series, and I cannot wait to find out what will happen next. Many thanks to Aria Fiction, Vicky Joss and Jane Isaac for the invitation to take part in this blog tour. Please check out the rest of the stops on the blog tour.

About the author:

Jane Isaac is married to a serving detective and they live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter, and dog, Bollo. Jane loves to hear from readers and writers. You can reach her via her website at http://www.janeisaac.co.uk Sign up to her book club at http://eepurl.com/1a2uT for book recommendations and details of new releases, events and giveaways.

Facebook: @JaneIsaacAuthor

Twitter: @JaneIsaacAuthor

Website: www.janeisaac.co.uk

Order links:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2AM9evY

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TiC7Gv

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2Tp2tXf

iBooks: https://apple.co/2BLTfyz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s